The district is located in Essex County in northeastern Massachusetts, serving the Towns of Newbury, Rowley, and Salisbury. Our K-12 academic region is roughly 40 miles north east of Boston and borders New Hampshire on our northern reaches. Triton is unique as a region, as Salisbury is not geographically contiguous with Newbury and Rowley. All three towns are coastal communities, boasting a mix of picturesque tidal marshes, beautiful beaches, a sprawling interior of secondary forests and farm lands atop glacial deposits.

All three towns have great historical significance dating back centuries.

  • Newbury was originally settled as Newbury Plantation, in 1635 and it was incorporated as the Town of Newbury later that year. Originally part of the Rowley Plantation, Byfield is now a parish within the Town of Newbury. Based on the most recent census from 2010, Newbury has approximately 6,600 residents.
  • Rowley was also settled originally as a plantation and incorporated in 1639, by immigrants from Rowley in Yorkshire. Rowley was incorporated officially later in 1639. The most recent figures for Rowley show a total population of approximately 5,800.
  • While Salisbury was originally settled in 1638 as Colchester, it was later incorporated as Salisbury in 1639.  While the most recent census shows a total population of about 8,300 residents, they report on their website about 7,800 residents live in the town year round. This is due to Salisbury Beach, which is a regional attraction and has many seasonal residences.

While all three towns are different and boast their own unique strengths and traditions, these communities come together to support the collective education of our students.